New Projects – Ogre, Cookbook, etc

Hello all,

I know I haven’t written in a long time.  I need to get back into it, but I have been working hard and doing some other things. And I’ve been distracted.
If you have any interest or knowledge about wargaming, you remember Steve Jackson’s Ogre.  It’s one of the pinnacles of wargaming.  An extremely rich environment and a game that’s been around for almost 35 years.  Yet, the instructions can fit on a single 8.5″ x 11″ piece of paper.

Well… it’s back.  It’s a kickstarter.com project because it’s just so epic.  One of the stretch goals for Ogre is the patterns for one’s own 3-D Ogres.  So, I spent the day making one.  Here it is…

No, it’s not pretty.  This was more of a proof-of-concept.  It is very difficult to cut this guy out with an hobby knife.  I learned a bit during this run though.

  1. At least two fresh blades are vital.
  2. Goggles are VITAL (I got a tip of one of the blades in my eye when it snapped).
  3. A metal ruler would have helped with straight cuts.
  4. Leave some of the material that “should be cut out” as mat board isn’t as strong as chip board.
  5. Make two passes with the blade.
  6. Do not try to pull a piece away, it’ll just make a mess.

Anyway, if you do try this… well, enjoy.  I think the kickstarter versions are getting plenty of ogres anyway.  And my vote for the future was bringing back metal miniatures.

 

My other project is a cookbook for young adults freshly heading out on their own.  I hope to have it finished in a month or so.  It’ll be on the Kindle.

I’ll try to update more often.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Projects – Ogre, Cookbook, etc

  1. jeffro says:

    The Ogre obviously had operational antipersonnel weaponry….

Leave a Reply

