WOOOOOORKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love my job, I really do.  I make a huge contribution to tens of thousands… soon to be millions of people.  There’s not many people that can say that.

That being said, I wish we could have spaced out the work load… just a little bit.  I’ll be having a REALLY full day tomorrow.  I just got done with a two day meeting.  I’ll be doing training Saturday, Monday and Tuesday (did I mention my vacation starts Monday hah!).  Then I’ll have work to review starting the Tuesday after Christmas (my vacation (hah!) runs until January 3rd).

OK, enough griping.  When I’m not freaking out because of everything that I have to do and can’t because I’m waiting on other people, I still think I have the greatest job in the world… for me.

Everyone has some skills.  Everyone has knowledge.  Everyone has aptitude.  And almost everyone has a job.  Almost always, people’s knowledge is directly relevant to their job (even if they have to learn it on the job).  Almost always, people’s skills are directly relevant to their job (even if they have to learn them on the job).

There are just a few, rare lucky ones whose aptitudes are relevant to their jobs.  Aptitudes can’t be learned.  These are either traits you are born with or so directly involved with one’s psyche that changing them would result in almost a completely different person.

I am one of those lucky people.  All the skills that I have developed over the years with some really odd jobs and all the knowledge I’ve developed as a dedicated amateur science geek and several aptitudes that I may or may not have known about have come together in this job.

But just like a relationship or a child or a pet, that does not mean it is sometimes frustrating, insanity inducing, or give the occasional desire to strangle someone*.  However, even with all of that, I couldn’t see myself doing anything else that is as much fun, as interesting, and as so vitally useful and important.**

Hmmm… that was a really long introduction for why I probably won’t be posting too much.  However, a friend of mine may start guest posting here soon.  I think that is really cool.  He’s deep into philosophy (we have ‘discussed’ it) and taking some interesting classes, so I’m exciting to see what he has to say.

I have some material that he’s written, but it’ll be a bit before I can get it posted.  Maybe on my vacation (hah!)

 

_____________________________________________

* As the T-shirt says, “insanity is caused by resisting the urge to strangle someone who really deserves it.”

** Well maybe, but the missus won’t let me have a home molecular biology research lab.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WOOOOOORKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. genrepair says:

    Get some rest man.

  2. Eugen says:

    Yup, work is overrated.

  3. OgreMkV says:

    Eating however, is not. 🙂

    Gene, Christmas Day, I will be helping my 4-year-old assemble the big LEGO Millennium Falcon. I figure a few hours of that will be plenty of relaxation. I can’t wait.

  4. Eugen says:

    You guys will have fun. When he turns 10-12 buy him LEGO Mindstorms so YOU can play with it. 🙂

  5. OgreMkV says:

    Oh heck yeah! The school we’re going to try to get him into has a robotics course in the 6th grade… that’ll be 12 for him. Bwah hah ha.

    Once he’s that age, I’m planning on taking on some Earthwatch adventures. A week or so, helping a real scientist do real research out in the field. I can’t wait.

  6. Eugen says:

    As far as I know we don’t have school like that here. Maybe in Toronto, I don’t know what they don’t have there.

    Earthwatch? That sounds cool, I’ll check online.

Leave a Reply

