I’m Available for Adoption

Bill Donahue of the Catholic League is sponsoring an ‘Adopt an Atheist‘ program.  The program is to be used to explain to atheists

“We want atheists to realize that there may be Christians in their community, even if those Christians don’t even know they are Christian.”

Here’s what our campaign entails. We are asking everyone to contact the American Atheist affiliate in his area [click here], letting them know of your interest in “adopting” one of them. All it takes is an e-mail. Let them know of your sincere interest in working with them to uncover their inner self. They may be resistant at first, but eventually they may come to understand that they were Christian all along.

If we hurry, these closeted Christians can celebrate Christmas like the rest of us. As an added bonus, they will no longer be looked upon as people who “believe in nothing, stand for nothing and are good for nothing.”

Then we too can celebrate Christmas like it was originally intended

Modern Christmas customs include: gift-giving and merrymaking from Roman Saturnalia; greenery, lights, and charity from the Roman New Year; and Yule logs and various foods from Germanic feasts.

Until those upstart Christians got a hold of it.

So, I’m available.  The only requirement is that everything is open discussion and anything said will be posted into this blog.

Please, yes, let’s start with how the Catholic church refused to allow me and my wife to marry since I was a Baptist at the time.  (We’ll not go into the fact that of all the couples I know married in the Catholic tradition, less than 20% are still together.)  Let’s ask why my wife is refused by her own family to be a Godparent of any of her many nieces and nephews… are you guys afraid that we’ll tell those kids the truth about the Bible?

How about this, I’ll adopt a Christian and explain to them that I am a normal human being.  Just because I’m an atheist doesn’t mean I go around eating flesh (that’s left for the Christians).  Just because I’m an atheist doesn’t mean I am a axe murderer just waiting for provocation.

Oh, I’d like to point this out.

Approximately 80 percent of Americans are Christian, and 96 percent celebrate Christmas. Of the 20 percent who are not Christian, non-believers make up the largest segment, though the number of self-identified atheists is tiny

You know why atheists are a self-identified minority?  Because harassment of us is (while illegal and unethical) it is perfectly acceptable.  Take a look… (from Greta Christina’s Blog)

Anti-atheist bigotry is no joke. Atheists get denied custody of their children explicitly on the basis of their atheism. Atheist kids in public high schools trying to organize clubs routinely get stonewalled. Atheist veterans got booed in a Memorial Day parade. Atheist teenagers get threats of brutal violence and death for asking their school to obey the law and not proselytize about religion to students. Polls consistently put atheists at the bottom of lists of who people would vote for or trust. Towns get hysterical about atheists playing “Jingle Bells” on vuvuzelas in a Christmas parade. It’s no joke. (Okay, the thing about the vuvuzelas is sort of funny…)

You remember all those years of Christian persecution?  Oh wait, that’s right, Christians (according to you) are the majority, so how exactly can you be a persecuted minority?  Yeah because being asked to follow the law and NOT handout Bibles at school is exactly like a family throwing a high school student out of his home because he’s atheist.

So please adopt me.  Please explain to me why I’m wrong for wanting to live my own life and you are right for wanting to kill me.

This entry was posted in Atheism, Culture, Religion, Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m Available for Adoption

  1. eksith says:

    What really annoys me is the thinly veiled condescension. Ol’ Bill seems to think that all Atheists are so because of a lack of exposure to religion. Seemingly forgetting that Atheists are composed of even former members of the clergy.

    No one should be made to live in fear of persecution and the fact that atheists in particular are almost considered non-entities undeserving of basic human rights, let alone the right not adhere to any religion, with no qualms whatsoever is quite frightening.

    I’m not an atheist (Buddhist/quasi agnostic), but anyone with an iota of common sense should see incidents like the ones listed are carried out by evil and hateful people; religious affiliation be damned.

  2. Eugen says:

    What do you atheists do in Christmas time?

    Alternate idea:

    http://festivuspoles.com/pages/Festivuspoles.htm

  3. OgreMkV says:

    We have our family traditions just like anyone else. I find it almost condescending that you would ask. Do you ask a Jew what they do at Christmas time?

    Christmas, like most holidays, is a celebration… mostly of family and friends. Having a birthday party for a guy to died almost 2000 years ago, who may not have actually lived in the first place, and certainly wasn’t born in the middle of winter, is just silly.

  4. Eugen says:

    Just a friendly joke.

    Only reason why atheist would acknowledge and maybe even celebrate Christmas is to be practical. Everybody else is off work so it’s easier to get together with people.
    Beside that any other date could be picked up for an atheist celebration. There is an idea.

    On above post – I strongly disagree with any violence or mistreatment of people who are not beliving in God.

  5. OgreMkV says:

    Sorry Eugen, just a bit grumpy about the whole thing. I’m tired of people who think I’m not a Christian because I haven’t thought about it really.

    I can assure everyone that I guarantee that I have thought about this more than 99% of all the Christians out there.

    If those people need a crutch to get through the week, then that’s fine for them. But the evangelism and the determination that Christians KNOW what is right, moral, and ethical for everyone and everything pisses me off. They don’t and any halfway competent researcher can prove it.

    No, I love Christmas and always have. I usually get 2-weeks off (sometimes more). I have all my family with me. And you can see the pure wonder in the eyes of the children. It is a magical time, for some value of magical.

  6. Eugen says:

    “I can assure everyone that I guarantee that I have thought about this more than 99% of all the Christians out there.”

    That’s likely,Ogre. I just assume things are true and let the priests do their job. On another blog Christians were somewhat rightly named “godbots”. Maybe there should be program adopt a Christian so atheist can tell them the other possibility. Fortunately, in general convincing doesn’t work which is possible source of frustration on both sides. Each person has to do the reading and deciding on his own.
    Another source of frustration for an atheist is hypocrisy of religious people. We are greedy and selfish as anybody else. “Practice what you preach” is not always followed.

    Christmas here in Ontario is idyllic: snow on evergreens, kids skating on backyard ice rink, fireplace crackling. Can’t wait.

  7. OgreMkV says:

    You have a very odd definition of ‘idyllic’… fireplace yes, but it’s already down to 50F and we’ve already had one freeze (shudder)… how much more miserable do you expect it to get 🙂

    As far as the rest… totally agree. I just hold people to the standards they claim to hold. I’m usually pleasantly surprised when atheists don’t turn out to be baby eating, mommy raping serial killers.

  8. Eugen says:

    Yes, I forgot to say it’s idyllic from inside the house 🙂

Leave a Reply

