Disposable Society

This bugs the heck out of me.  I consider myself to be pro-environment.  I recycle everything I can.  I turn all the lights off whenever the sun is shining.  My AC is set at 80 during the day and 78 at night.

On the other hand, I am not made of money.  I can’t buy solar panels (man I wish after the summer Texas had).  I can’t afford a wind turbine or an electric vehicle.

I do what I can, but sometimes, you just have to accept that we live in a disposable society.  Case in point…

We bought new home phones when we moved three years ago.  We hadn’t had a home phone in the preceding 5 years, but with us being away from the majority of the family, it was cheaper to have a free long distance land line than try to keep under 700 minutes on the cell phones.

Now, after several years, the batteries on those rechargeable handsets have died.  [Yes, there are many valid reasons we needed portable handsets, otherwise I wouldn’t have gotten them.]  In a one hour meeting while working from home, I have to switch phones two or three times because the batteries can’t hold a decent charge.

OK, so I go to look for batteries.  The phones are perfectly serviceable.

Unbelievable.  New batteries (which are essentially AAA ni-cads in shrinkwrap) $23 a piece plus shipping.  Locally, I couldn’t find the right size at all, but the nearest equivalent at Radio Shack was $25.  I needed three battery packs.

While at Radio Shack, preparing myself for another unplanned expense, I turned around and there were the actual phones.  Three new handsets, including rechargers, batteries, and base station… $43.  I checked on my store of choice, Amazon, and found a two handset phone set (base station, batteries, 2 handsets, and charger) for $29.

Now, again, I’m all about the environment, but I just cannot justify spending $75 when I could spend $32.

Fortunately, I live in an area with a good electronics recycling program.

I’ve noticed that even businesses consider customers to be disposable.  Just try to talk to your telecommunications provider about getting a discount that they offer to new customers.  I’ll bet you anything you won’t get it.  So customers bounce back and forth between cell phone providers every two years.

 

Sigh

This entry was posted in Culture, Environment, Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

