My Lunch – A (kinda) Healthy Salad

So, I had to tell you about this because it was so yummy.

You may not be aware, but I’m getting uncomfortably close to that age where I need to start watching what I eat (beyond watching anything I want to eat sitting on a plate).  My preferred diet of oreos, cola, and brownies is just going to waist (literally).  And as my age creeps up, so do the values of body chemistry that indicate a general unhealthiness (weight, cholesterol, etc).

I recently taken up jogging, which just goes to tell you how bad it has gotten.  I’ve already cut out a lot of red meat.  I eat a lot of chicken and fish.  I never salt anything.  Of course, I don’t smoke and I don’t drink.

Unfortunately, my family has a history of cholesterol related issues.  One side has too much, the other side way too little.  I guess it wasn’t meant to be that I would be able to stay in the middle.

So, my lunch today was a salad.  It probably wasn’t the healthiest salad ever made, but it was a heck of a lot better than Taco Bell.  it was, probably, the tastiest salad I’ve ever eaten though.

I put the following into 4-cup Zipoc box:

  • Fill about 2/3rds up with baby spinach
  • Add half a Roma tomato – diced
  • Add 1/4 cup mixed red and white Quinoa
  • 4 slices fresh mozzarella cheese (optional, but worth it)
  • 2-3 tablespoons of dried cranberries
  • Top with raspberry vinaigrette

Man, that was a good lunch.  Pretty filling, I could have eaten more, but it would have been too much.  Very tasty and if not the most healthy salad in the world, certainly better than my normal lunch (leftovers or whatever I can get out of the vending machines).

Try it.  Now I just have to find a regular source of the Quinoa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

