New Book Review Coming Soon, Research, and Texas Fires

According to Amazon… on Friday, I will take delivery of

The Emergence of Life: From Chemical Origins to Synthetic Biology The Emergence of Life: From Chemical Origins to Synthetic Biology

by: Pier Luigi Luisi

I know nothing about this book.  It wasn’t recommended to me.  What I was looking for is a very recent book on origins of life research.  This came up, published in 2010.  Pretty close.

I plan to review this one much the same as I did Your Inner Fish.

Stay tuned for that.

In other news, with a little luck, I’ll have a research project of my own going in a few months.  Nothing super science exciting, but (I think) important to the industry I work in and useful.  It’s also something that has never been tested, in spite of their being a significant set of beliefs about it.

More details as events warrant.

Fires:

Yep, I live in central Texas.  Yep, I’m pretty much in the middle of these fires.  Fortunately, I have not had to deal with them directly.  It’s a pretty scary proposition.  You could go to work one day and come home to your entire neighborhood being destroyed.

I can see smoke on the horizon in almost every direction.

Everyone keeps saying “This is not the time to talk about politics.”  Bull cookies.  I think that this is a perfect time to note that Rick Perry

had a budget proposal to reduce Texas forest service fire fighting ability

decried FEMA, then asked for money

I’m very sorry to those that were harmed by the fires.  I’ve opened my home to help.  Perry is not a leader.  He does not plan for the future and only does things that a) make him look good right now and b) things to support his political contributors.

It’s very sad that this discussion has to take place.  But it DOES have to take place and now is the time.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Government and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.