Computer Specs

Well, I’ve been toying with the idea of a new computer.  I don’t needs it, but I wants it.  Looking at catalogs and reading reviews keeps me out of trouble… mostly.  Apparently the boy and I were a little loud playing this evening.

Anyway, I’ve speced out two systems.  The main difference is one is a 4-core i5-2500k and the other is a 6-core PhenomII.  Honestly, the price difference isn’t that much, with the exception of the motherboard, the other hardware is the same.

WARNING: Stuff beyond this point is mostly untranslatable geek.  If you aren’t deathly interested in building your own computers from scratch, stop here.

I’ll be keeping the video card and terabyte HDD from my current machine.  Everything else goes.  I have included a new monitor in my plans, but that’s optional.

The components of both systems will be a DVD burner (and everything except blu-ray reader).  Eight gigs of DDR3 1600 will be the main memory.  A 775W modular power supply will keep everything I could possibly want running and a Thermaltake coil air-cooler will keep the CPU cool (-ish).  Finally, a fantastic new case will grace the floor next to my desk.  The case has four fans, with mounting slots for four more and (most importantly to me) fan filters.

I’ve added an solid state drive, but that’s another option.  Without the SSD and monitor I come in at less than $700 for the whole setup.  With the two options, I come to around $1000.

So, the final choice is decide which CPU/motherboard combo I want.  The motherboards are very similar with SATA III, USB 3.0 and great overclocking potential (not that I will do very much, just a few Mhz).

So, six-core AMD or 4-core Intel?  The Intel is the more powerful chip and the modern i5s (I hear) run a little cooler and are more stable at overclocking speeds.

Still, I’m not a huge fan of Intel.  My last Intel chip was a Pentium 2 at 450Mhz.  I’ve had all AMDs for the last 15 years.  And the thought of a six-core chip is pretty awesome.  I hear, that AMD has 8-core chips coming out.  Though it will probably be a different socket.

Still, the price difference is low enough to make that a non-issue.  I’ve seen all the benchmarks and tests and reviews.  I still can’t make up my mind.  Actually, I’ve made up my mind, I just don’t want to admit it yet.

If I ever actually buy the setup, I’ll post all the coolness and the build.

This entry was posted in Computer Tech and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

