Technology Explosion

Well… not really.

The hard drive on my PC crashed and I’m just not up to writing a full blog entry, with research and links on my (rather pitiful) work laptop.

I’ve never been a huge fan of Seagate hard drives, even back in the day.  I’m a Western Digital man myself.  (I loathe Maxtor, but then, doesn’t everyone?)

But this time last year I needed a new hard drive.  I had a 350G that was dying and my entire Windows install and all my stuff was on a 150Gig drive that was 98% full.  So, I started checking on drives and low and behold, I pick up an Office Depot flyer and $70 for a 1 terabyte Seagate drive.  I had to think about it for about 3 seconds.

I walked into Office Depot and the manager said, ‘Welcome to Office Depot, can we help you?”  I replied, “I want this,” holding up said flyer.  He hadn’t seen the flyer, but honored the price anyway and I came home with a 1 terabyte drive.  There were some install and cloning issues, but I worked those out OK.

This time last week, Windows7 informs me that I have a HDD error.  It’s some kind of SMART issue with incorrect sector sizes. Everything still worked, so I started looking around.  A replacement drive was about the same I paid last year.  I finally called Seagate on Friday and holy cow, the drive is still under full warranty.

The new one was supposed to arrive today, but no joy, we missed the UPS guy.  Ah well.

Unfortunately, in the meantime, my drive completely died, BIOS won’t even recognize it.  Crap, I was doing nightly backups, I just hope everything is still there.  Really, there are very few things I actually need on that hard drive.  There are a lot of pictures, but the best of my music and all the videos are on the Amazon cloud.

Documents, meh, not so much.  There’s some stuff I’d hate to lose, but I never really looked at it anymore.  It may be that the poetry on this site is the last of what I wrote.  We’ll see.

I figure it’ll take about two days of concerted effort to get the software redownloaded and installed.  I’m going (not that I have a choice) with a fresh Win7 install and everything else too.

That’s the update, see ya

 

This entry was posted in Computer Tech and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology Explosion

  1. Eugen says:

    Ah, fresh OS install – everything fast and uncluttered. I would love to do it on my machines but no time.
    Good luck.

  2. OgreMkV says:

    Everything worked perfectly. In less than 5 hours I went from a blank drive to exactly where I was before the crash last Friday.

Leave a Reply

