Philips New EnduraLED Bulb

Here’s thee link to the press release and a poorly written post on it.

First of all, this is pretty impressive as it’s one of the most powerful LED bulb available to consumers using standard fixture sockets.  It’s lumen (roughly power of light output) is equivalent to a 70W incandescent bulb or an 18-25W compact fluorescent bulb.  However it only uses 17 Watts of power (about 25% of the incandescent).

Being an LED, it doesn’t have any mercury or other chemicals that a fluorescent might and it’s dimmable where most compact fluorescent bulbs aren’t.

OK, so this thing is $45.  However, it’s expected to have a usable life of 25 times an incandescent bulb.  So if you change your 75 light bulb every year at 1 dollar a pop, then the Philips LED will last for 25 years.

Now, here’s the big one though.  That 75W light bulb, if you have a decent electrical rate is costing you a whopping one penny per hour.  Doesn’t sound like much, but how many light bulbs are on in your house and how long per month do you run them?

The Philips bulb will cost you .2 pennies per hour.  That 2 tenths of a cent per hour.  You could run five light bulbs for the cost of one regular bulb or you could run one light bulb five times as long.

OK, let’s do a total life cost cycle here.

Incandescent: 1000 hour life, so you need 25 bulbs to equal one Philips bulb.  So that’s about $25 in equipment.  At one penny per hour, that’s $250 worth of electricity.  Total cost is $275 dollars for 1100 lumens of light for 25,000 hours.

Philips LED: 25,000 hour life, so one bulb at $45.  Electricity is .2 cents per hour, so that’ll run you $50 worth of electricity.  Total cost is $95 for 1100 lumens of light for 25,000 hours.

That’s a pretty good deal.  Multiply that by 10 bulbs in a house and you’re saving $1500 over the life of the bulbs.  Once again, initial capital outlay is better than cost-over-time.

And if you move, just take them with you.

BTW: They don’t appear to be for sale yet, as none of the stores I tried had them or knew about them.  They should be along directly.

UPDATE: I did forget to mention something.  Unlike incandescent bulbs, LEDs do tend to fade slightly over time.  Last I checked, it was roughly 5% of the power in SOME frequencies of light (not all) every 2-4 years depending.  Fortunately, the frequencies don’t really affect humans.  It just tends to make the LEDs look slightly more yellow over time.

This entry was posted in Environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Philips New EnduraLED Bulb

  1. Altair IV says:

    I’m a recent LED light convert.

    Here in Japan, in my little one-room+kitchen, I know I’m not an especially big energy-hog, but I’ve made a conscious effort recently to reduce my footprint anyway. A couple of weeks ago I decided to buy a low-end LED bulb to replace the CFL one I’d been using as my main light source. Not only does it use half the energy (6w vs. 12w), but I was surprisingly pleased to find it about 15% brighter as well. I don’t really know if it will ever save me anything monetarily, but it only cost me 1500 yen, equal to about about 2 meals at McDonald’s, so it’s not going to break the bank, and I do have the satisfaction knowing that doing my part. I’m already planning to buy a couple more for the bath and entrance.

    I also used to keep the entrance light on 24/7, as the whole kitchen area otherwise has only a single inconvenient hanging lamp in the center of the room (and it’s windowless, making it pitch-black day and night). I’ve now put two small .5w LED motion-sensing nightlights in the kitchen and entrance, and I’ve found them to be more than adequate as a replacement, particularly when my eyes are already dark-adjusted. They’re bright enough for me to get to and from the bathroom, grab a drink, or even make a quick snack, all without turning on the room light. And of course the main switch is still there for when I need real illumination.

    Finally, I’m trying to be more conscious in general about turning things off when I don’t need them. The rainy season has just started here, and outside temperatures are quite cool, so I’ve turned off the A/C (usually set to dehumidify) and opened up the window. It’s a bit more humid than I like it, but it is cool and fresh and I’m starting to get used to it. And it’ll save up some money for summer when I’m going to really need it.

    Sorry for the ramble. I guess what I’m really trying to get across is that energy conservation does not always require huge sacrifices, but it does require training yourself to think about what you’re doing, and making some effort to change your habits as well as your fixtures. There’s no single quick fix, just a bunch of little things that add up. Replacing your room lights with LEDs is certainly a good step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

