Why I Like Amazon Instant Video

There are many reasons

But, the main one, and one that is becoming more and more relevant in today’s TV landscape, is I get an e-mail when a new episode comes out.

In the old days, there were these things called ‘seasons’.  Every Friday night at 8:00PM, you turned on Channel 4 and there was a new Knight Rider episode.  This was true from mid-September to mid-April.  Then the summer reruns began.

Now, there’s a 4-week break here, a 2-week break there, two new episodes, three repeats, and then a new one.  It’s crazy.

I signed up for the TV Pass for the two series that I really like right now.  The TV Pass is just that, you get the entire season at a reduced rate and you get them when the shows come out.  For example, I have a TV Pass for Castle.  Each new show is downloaded to my computer usually within 8-12 hours of its first airing.  I get an e-mail when it’s ready.

Then I can watch it whenever I want.  It’s on my PC and it’s in my video queue on Amazon.  I can watch on my TV via Roku.

Easy… Plus, I will always own that episode.  (I back them up on my external drive, in case Amazon gets all 1984 on me.)

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

