Information Overload

My intentions were to begin a new series of posts covering “evidence for common ancestry”.  When I got to thinking about it, I considered that the lowly ribosome would a good place to start.  It’s a highly conserved structure that is in every living thing so far discovered on this planet.  Surely, it is evidence of common ancestry.

And it is, very good evidence.  But, as I started exploring the research (especially the last few years), I found more and more and more and now, my poor drug addled mind (allergies… whoever invented pollen needs to be beat with a large stick) is overloaded.

Do I want to talk about the evolutionary history of the ribosome before the Most Recent Common Ancestor or after?  Do I want to talk about how the RNA structure coevolved with the increasing complexity of the genetic code.  Then once we get into that, we need to talk about the evolution of the genetic code and codon/amino acid pairing… of course, then we get into why all organisms on the planet use the exact same codon/amino acid pairing…which brings me back to origins of life.

No one paper can encompass all of this.  No one article can either.  It may be hard to get it into a single book.

That’s what so many anti-science people just don’t get.  Scientists don’t just say that things are the way they are.  There are significant amounts of research showing that, yes, that’s the way it is.  Now, it’s getting to the point where one can’t even list all the supporting information, it’s just too much.

I’m going to think on this and read more.  I’d like to continue the “Origin of Life” series I’m doing.  I think it’s valuable to summarize some of the recent research.  But at what point do we go from “Origin of Life” to “Continuation of Life”?  Maybe that’s something else to write about… what is life?

So much to do, so little time.  Sigh.  Now, I remember why I never specialized.  Becoming a true expert in one area, often means giving up all the other areas.  I couldn’t do that.  I want to know everything…

This entry was posted in Ideas, Science and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

