I Get E-mail – with Hate

I’m going to steal this idea (the “I Get E-mail” title for some posts) from PZ Myers and hope he can forgive me (or maybe link back to my blog).  On the other hand, the e-mail in question wasn’t in regards to this blog.  So what happened?

First of all, my dad is a nut.  He doesn’t understand government or care.  All he knows is that he pissed away all his money and now has no retirement other than social security and no insurance other than Medicare or Medicaid, whichever it is.  Of course, Obama is to blame for his lot in life and I regularly get forwarded e-mails from him that attacks Obama, attacks his citizenship, tells us what evil bills he’s about to implement or whatever.

Most I delete outright.  If I’m otherwise bored, I do a 30 second google search and reply back to everyone on his mailing list showing he’s wrong.  Such was the result of today’s e-mail from my dad.

I won’t reproduce all of it, just the important bit.

Barack Obama,
during his Cairo speech, said:
“I know, too, that Islam has always been a part
of  America ‘s story.”

Then the e-mail goes on at length about how no Muslim signed the Declaration of Independence and how no Muslim was with the Pilgrims blah blah blah.  Which completely misses the point of the speech Obama gave in Cairo.

Here’s the relevant excerpt from the speech.

I know, too, that Islam has always been a part of America’s story. The first nation to recognize my country was Morocco. In signing the Treaty of Tripoli in 1796, our second President John Adams wrote, “The United States has in itself no character of enmity against the laws, religion or tranquility of Muslims.” And since our founding, American Muslims have enriched the United States. They have fought in our wars, served in government, stood for civil rights, started businesses, taught at our Universities, excelled in our sports arenas, won Nobel Prizes, built our tallest building, and lit the Olympic Torch. And when the first Muslim-American was recently elected to Congress, he took the oath to defend our Constitution using the same Holy Koran that one of our Founding Fathers – Thomas Jefferson – kept in his personal library.

Now, someone, tell me if any of this is untrue.

Oh, the author’s of this particular vomitous mass of useless garbage over-looked this quote, also from the speech in Cairo.

Part of this conviction is rooted in my own experience. I am a Christian, but my father came from a Kenyan family that includes generations of Muslims. As a boy, I spent several years in Indonesia and heard the call of the azaan at the break of dawn and the fall of dusk. As a young man, I worked in Chicago communities where many found dignity and peace in their Muslim faith.

(my emphasis) Seems, they always overlook that bit huh?

So, I corrected the problems with the e-mail.  I also expressed my displeasure at constantly (I exaggerated because I was sick and tired (literally and figuratively)) having to do research on stuff that he ought to know better on.  I also told him that he could take me off of his e-mail list if that’s all was going to get from him. [NOTE: My dad left my mom when I was 8.  He doesn’t give a shit about me or my son, his only grandson.  I cannot even guarantee that he knows his only grandchild’s name.  I can guarantee he doesn’t know my wife’s name.  He’s my dad, but I’m really starting to hate his guts.  End Full Disclosure.]

Now, I send that response, and I copy everyone, just to embarrass him among his ‘social circle’.  He knows he can stop me doing it by not sending me crap.  I’ll also add that I have responded positively to his e-mails… well… once.

So here is the first reply I get from my dad’s circle of friends.  Yes, this is entirety of the reply and emphasis in the original.

GEE PAT, TOO BAD YOU CAN’T HAVE A FETUS ABORTED RETROACTIVELY…………
–C

Now, I’m not going to assume that this man is a Christian.  I am willing to bet any amount of money that he is a Republican though.

I told him to fuck off and copied my dad.  No further response from either of them.

Here’s the second response

Hey Pat,

I see your boy is at it again. Just a couple of things off the top of my head. First off, President Adams was being magnanimous with his response to the Barbary pirates. 1 US Marine Corps lieutenant and 8 other Marines had just walked across the desert and kicked the muslims’ asses. Let me see, unions came into being because business owners were too strong and were taking advantage of the labor force. That was good, however the unions became too strong and the pendulum swung back in favor of the owners. We find ourselves in that exact situation today with the unions pricing themselves out of the market and breaking the bank. The unions need to be reined in now. BTW, I think unions were involved in Nazi Germany too. Lastly, taking the oath of office swearing on the Koran is so anti-American to me, it makes me sick. Plus, Thomas Jefferson was not a Muslim even if he did have a Koran in his library.

God bless America and if anyone should go to Afghanistan, let it be Kevin. I told you he was too damn smart.

Thanks for getting my fired up old friend,
Sharon

I had to correct a couple of her misconceptions and replied back to her as well.  Interestingly, she replied to me, but did not reply to my father.  Considering that she is commenting to him (Pat), that shows what level of “too damn smart” is for her.  IOW, if you can correctly operate an e-mail program, you are “too damn smart”.

I corrected her comment about Obama’s use of Adam’s comments.  I corrected her impression of unions (20 year low in membership, for example).  I love the fact that she Godwined the ‘debate’ and I explained what Godwin’s law was and why it’s a logical fallacy to poison the well.

I went on to explain that Thomas Jefferson was also not a Christian.  I mentioned he was a deist and his Jefferson Bible.

I also reminded her that the use of any object to swear either servitude (in the case of elected officials) or truthfulness (in the case of a court of law) is not required.  In fact, it cannot expressly be a Bible because that would be against the Constitution of the United States of America (1st Amendment, Establishment Clause).  In fact, it could be anything.  It could be the Book of the Pirates of the Flying Spaghetti Monster (all hail the meatballs).  If someone wanted to do that way, the government cannot say ‘no’.

And finally, we get to the request to have me shipped to Afghanistan.  Wow, I mean, really.  Supporting Christianity, then wishing evil upon me and my family.

One more comment on the “too damn smart” thing.  I cannot imagine what she would consider qualifications for political office, or the presidency, if she thinks there is such a thing as ‘too damn smart’.

It actually frightens me that there are people who think we can be too smart.  Much less, little things like checking facts and not using logical fallacies.  If this is the future of our country, then we are doomed.  I’m going to get passports and head out.

The only silver lining in this, is that I think the Republican Party pushed too hard, too fast when they got the majority after the mid-term elections.  I think a lot of people have seen what they stand for… and it’s not the citizens of the US.  Please get the word out about Wisconsin and the lies of that governor and the mass teacher firings in Rhode Island and Richmond.

We have to stop them.

I’m sorry that this has become such a political blog.  It isn’t my main focus, but it is very, very important to me.  I don’t want my kid to grow up in the country of the American Taliban.  You can look it up.  The far right wants nothing less than a Christian Theocracy in the US.

This entry was posted in Culture, Government, Prediction, Religion, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Get E-mail – with Hate

  1. I too try not to be overly political, but in times like this is is hard to avoid. I think it is the right thing to do.

  2. carlsonjok says:

    My wife and I have a friend who is, in person, one of the most gentle and generous people you could ever want to meet. But, he isn’t the sharpest knife in the drawer and is continually forwarding around all the rightwing emails, most of which are trivially proven false. It continually got my wife’s dander up to the point that I finally had to set up a rule out on the email server to automatically move all the emails from this guy into a folder, so that I could screen them before they were downloaded. If they were political or touching on racial issues, I just delete them. They get me POed too, but I guess I just have better impulse control.

Leave a Reply

