Why You Should Always Research…

I’m traveling to my mother’s this week, so I’m not sure I’ll be able to maintain my couple of posts a day.  I thought I would leave my 8 readers with something a little humorous.  As promised, a lesson in why one should always research purchases (and everything else) before laying down the cash.

So I go to my local fish store and see the coolest fish I think I’ve ever seen. This cute little dark black pleco with white/gold spots. He’s all of an inch and a half long.  He’s got these great extensions on his tail (called a lyre tail).   He’s listed as a ‘gold spot pleco‘.  Isn’t he cute?

They had exactly one and he was $13. I thought, I don’t like plecos, but I talked my self into him after the LFS guy (someone I used to trust), said, “this is one of the small ones… nine inches tops”.

After some research, first turning up nothing on ‘gold spot anything’. I checked out Planet Catfish, at about the same time I posted in the “What Pleco do you have” thread here. Within minutes, both threads had the same result…

Acanthicus adonishttp://www.planetcatfish.com/forum/v…128094#p128094

Within 12 months or so, he’s going to be a foot long and eating all my other fish. Within 2-3 years, he’ll be two feet long and hanging over the edge of my tank. When he reaches his maximum size 39 inches!!!! He’ll probably be chasing my cats… not catfish, but my 20 lbs bobcat.

Yeah, you saw right. This thing is going to get to a little over 3 feet long.

My favorite quote from the Planet Catfish page “easily be the dominant fish of a 1000 gallon aquarium”!?!?!??!?!?!?!?!?  wait… what…?  Oh hell…

mommy

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why You Should Always Research…

  1. brandy says:

    lol, didn’t AC teach you anything?

  2. ogremkv says:

    This was a long time ago, not quite before Aquariacentral, but almost. But thanks… need to add that to the links.

Leave a Reply

